OWIT Banner
Follow Us



IASA Grants $25,000 in 2016 for Scholarships

The IASA Scholarship Program, established in 2010, demonstrates the association’s commitment to aiding undergraduate college students currently enrolled in a university with an insurance program, or in pursuit of a career in insurance, and whose course of study includes working toward a degree in accounting, finance, information technology, actuarial science or risk management

Following a thorough evaluation process, IASA’s Scholarship Committee selected fifteen individuals to receive the association’s 2016 scholarships. All of the scholarship recipients have proven dedicated not only to academic excellence, but to the betterment of themselves, their campuses and their communities through service and leadership.

“The quality of the applications we received this year has been amazing,” says Joe Pomilia, executive director of IASA. “All of our scholarship recipients demonstrate great potential in leading and shaping the next generation of the insurance industry. We are excited that we get to be a part of the process by helping them achieve their goals.”

In 2016, IASA continued to expand the scholarship program thanks to generous funding from IASA local chapters, companies and individuals who feel it is important to make a quantifiable difference in the lives of future industry leaders.

This year a total of $25,000 was awarded and the Walt Mason Scholarship was increased from $2,500 to $5,000. The IASA scholarship recipients are:

$5,000 Walt Mason Scholarship:

  • Albert Appouh, Rutgers University

$2,500 Scholarships:

  • Frederick Wright, Ohio State University
  • Jonah von der Embse, Ohio State University
  • Kate McCoy, Drake University
  • Matthew Pauszek , Butler University

$1,000 Scholarships:

  • Heba Raja, Temple University
  • Rachel Weber, Abilene Christian University
  • Adrienne Holzworth, Eastern Kentucky University
  • Brianna Saylor, Eastern Kentucky University
  • Eric Dynda, St. John’s University
  • Molly Peddicord, University of South Carolina
  • Laura Van Dyke, Olivet College
  • Marki Wilber, Olivet College
  • Jessica Oliva, St. John’s University
  • Nathan Noh, University of Southern California

This year’s recipients were recognized during the IASA Annual Educational Conference & Business Show, June 12- 15h, in San Antonio, Texas. For more information about the IASA Scholarship Program, or to donate to the 2017 IASA Scholarship Program, please contact Karen Furtado at 978-239-2741, or, visit the IASA website at www.iasa.org and click on “Scholarship Program” in the main menu.

Featured articles


Sapiens MR


The Email Chat is a regular feature of the ITA Pro magazine and website. We send a series of questions to an insurance IT leader in search of thought-provoking responses on important issues facing the insurance industry.


April 5th – 7th, 2020
The Diplomat Resort
Hollywood, FL
Become a member today to receive updates – www.itapro.org/MR


only online

Only Online Archive

ITA Pro Buyers' Guide

Vendor Views

Partner News